About IHSA

The Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) was established in 1967. The IHSA now encompasses 29 Regions in 9 Zones with more than 300 member colleges in the United States and Canada. IHSA horse shows allow riders with different experiences and riding backgrounds to compete. Although competition plays a role, student enthusiasm and team spirit are the major objectives. Emphasis is on learning, sportsmanship and fun.

The IHSA was founded on the principle that any college student should be able to participate in horse shows, regardless of their financial status or riding level. The objective of IHSA competition is to offer the opportunity to riders in their first years of riding as well as to students with show experience. Students do not need to own their own horses as they ride the horses at the host college, which are assigned before each show by a random drawing.

IHSA Classes

1 - Walk-Trot

2A - Beginning Walk-Trot-Canter

2B - Advanced Walk-Trot-Canter

3 - Novice Equitation on the flat

4 - Novice Equitation over fences

5 - Intermediate Equitation on the flat

6 - Intermediate Equitation over fences

7 - Open Equitation on the flat

8 - Open Equitation over fences

Riders qualify for the National Championship Horse Show through a point system. During the year, riders accumulate 36 points at regional shows to qualify for the Regional Finals in their respective divisions. The top twp riders in each class of the Regional Finals move forward to the Zone Finals. The top two competitors in each class at Zone Finals qualify for National Finals.

To find out more information about the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA), visit their web site www.ihsainc.com

IHSA Rule Book